Delete a booking
Table of contents:
- How to delete a booking?
- How to delete multiple bookings?
- Why does a “failed to delete” message appear?
- Viewing and undeleting deleted bookings
- Deleting a booking permanently
How to delete a booking?
You can easily delete a booking that was created by mistake or accidentally duplicated or for any other reason. Go to Bookings > All bookings then select the booking you want to edit and from the menu click on Delete booking.
Note that: Users must have permission to be able to delete a booking. To give permission go to Settings > Company settings > Users > Roles then Assign credentials to the user you want to give the permission, under the Permissions for bookings section tick the checkbox of Booking delete. Visit the assign credentials to a role page to learn more.
You can go to the booking details page, and click on Actions > Delete booking.
A pop-up menu will appear asking you to confirm deleting the booking, click on Delete.
How to delete multiple bookings?
Go to Bookings > All bookings, select the bookings you want to delete using the checkbox next to it on the left, you can select all or multiple bookings then click on Delete all as shown below.
Why does a “failed to delete” message appear?
When deleting a booking, a “failed to delete booking” message can appear preventing the action from being taken as shown below.
There are several reasons why deleting the booking will fail, before deleting a booking, you have to make sure you don’t have any of the following cases:
- An invoice: If there is an open invoice related to your booking, the booking won’t delete unless the invoice is deleted.
- Fieldworker share: The booking will not be deleted if any amount is paid to the fieldworker, so you have to delete any payment first before deleting a booking.
- Unapproved payment: If the booking has an unapproved payment related to that booking, you can’t delete the booking, the most familiar scenario for this to happen is when the fieldworker accepts cash payment from the customer, but the payment has not been received and the approved by the company side, in that case, you can not delete the booking related to this payment unless you delete the payment.
- Booking complaint: Deleting a booking with a complaint attached to it is not possible, you should delete the complaint first, and taking the delete action after, you can delete complaints from the booking view page, or the feedback lists.
- Refund: If there is a refund on an approved payment related to a booking, this booking can’t be deleted (it doesn’t matter if the admin user accepts the refunded amount or not, the booking won’t be deleted).
Viewing and undeleting deleted bookings
When you delete any booking it will still be available on the deleted bookings page, where you can view, undelete, or delete forever. Go to Bookings > Deleted, you will be redirected to the deleted bookings page, click on actions next to the booking, and select View booking or Undelete.
Deleting a booking permanently
When you delete a booking forever you will not be able to view it in the future and will not be visible on the deleted bookings page. Go to Bookings > Deleted and click on actions next to the booking then select Delete forever.
Note that: Users must have permission to be able to delete a booking. To give permission go to Settings > Company settings > Users > Roles then Assign credentials to the user you want to give the permission, under the Permissions for bookings section tick the checkbox of Booking delete forever. Visit the assign credentials to a role page to learn more.
For more information please visit the OctopusPro user guide, and subscribe to our Youtube channel.