Fieldworker Permissions

Fieldworker permissions

All your customers and your booking details are protected in OctopusPro. Your fieldworkers do not have the full access to these details. It is you who can decide what details to be shown for your fieldworkers and whether your fieldworkers have the approval to edit these details or not. To activate or deactivate fieldworker permissions:
  1. Go to Settings
  2. Select General Setting
  3.  Select Booking Settings
  4. Click Fieldworker permissions Page
  5. Press the button to activate or deactivate any permission

By default, your fieldworkers can edit any past bookings that have been closed as well as any future bookings they haven’t attended to as yet. If you want your fieldworkers to have to request permission before editing certain bookings then you should deactivate this flag, otherwise your fieldworkers can edit all their bookings without requesting permission from your office.

If this flag is activated and fieldworkers want to edit any booking through OctopusPro app, a popup will appear for them to notify them that they have to request permission before editing the booking.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then, a notification will be sent to the admin to request access to edit the booking and the admin can accept or reject the request.

When activated, your fieldworkers will be able to view the contact details of your customers at any time even when they don’t have work scheduled in. If you need to hide your customer contact details from your fieldworkers then you should deactivate this flag, your fieldworkers will still be able to call and text the customer but the phone number will be masked, they will also be able to email the customer but without seeing the email address.

The following screen shot shows when the customer contact details are shown to your fieldworkers in OctopusPro app:

The following screen shot shows when the customer contact details are not shown to your fieldworkers in OctopusPro app:

When activated, then changes made by your fieldworkers will apply without going through office approval. If deactivated, then changes made by your fieldworkers will remain pending until approved by an authorized user; and “awaiting office approval” sign will appear in the booking to indicate that changes on this booking are not approved yet. Once the admin approves these changes, the sign will disappear.

The following screen shot shows an unapproved booking from the web:

And the following screen shot shows an unapproved booking from OctopusPro app:

And a notification will be sent to the admin to approve or reject the changes.

When activated, your fieldworkers will be able to see all their bookings addresses at all times. If you wish to hide the full address of the booking from your fieldworker until the day of the booking, then you should deactivate this flag, this will force your fieldworker to press the “ON THE WAY” button on the booking and notify the office that they are on the way before being able to see the full booking address. The “ON THE WAY” button only shows a few hours before the booking start time, which means that your fieldworkers will only be able to see the full address on the day of the booking. If the button is not pressed, only part of the address will be showing, like the suburb/locality, but the exact street name and street number will remain hidden until the button has been pressed.

The following screen shot shows how job address appear to fieldworkers in OctopusPro app when this flag is activated.

While this screen shot shows how job address appear to fieldworkers in OctopusPro app when this flag is deactivated.

When activated, an Employee section will appear inside the fieldworker profile that allows you to create a sub-profile for each team member that works directly under your fieldworker, sub-profiles are used to store the information of any sub-workers like team members, assistants and juniors that work directly under a fieldworker. Sub-profiles are free and do not get charged extra user fee by OctopusPro.

The following screen shot shows the employee section in the fieldworker profile in OctopusPro app when this flag is activated.

The following screen shot shows the fieldworker profile in OctopusPro app when this flag is deactivated. (No Employee section)

When activated, then payments entered by your fieldworkers will remain pending until approved by an authorized user. When deactivated, payments entered by your fieldworkers will be applied immediately without waiting for any verification from other users.

The following screen shot shows what happens when this flag is activated in OctopusPro app. (Payments need the admin approval)

While this screen shot shows what happens when this flag is deactivated in the app. (Payments do not need the admin approval)

By default, your fieldworkers can see the quoted amount for bookings, meaning that your fieldworkers can see how much your customers are being charged for their bookings. If you need to hide this information from your fieldworkers then disable this feature, which will hide anything related to billing and invoicing from your fieldworkers in OctopusPro app like invoices and estimates in the main menu, the billing tab in every booking, and the total amount of each booking in bookings list; your fieldworkers will still be able to see whether a booking has been paid without seeing the payment amount.
The following screen shots show OctopusPro app when this flag is activated or deactivated.
Invoices and Estimates are hidden from the main menu:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The billing tab is hidden from the booking:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The total amount of each booking in the booking list:


By default, your fieldworkers can see their earnings (their share) for each booking in OctopusPro app. If you need to hide this information from showing to your fieldworkers, then you should deactivate this feature.

The following screen shots show  fieldworkers’ bookings in OctopusPro app while this flag is activated or deactivated.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The OctopusPro app allows your fieldworkers to inform the office when they are on their way to their booking. By default, this also notifies the customer by SMS that the fieldworker is on the way to their booking, gives them an ETA on arrival time, and allows them to track their route by GPS. If you want to stop this SMS from being sent to your customers then you should deactivate this feature.

 

If you are enabling the assignment method feature to automatically assign fieldworkers to bookings, then you can enable this flag to activate sending alarms for your fieldworkers through OctopusPro app to notify them when a new booking is available so they can choose whether to accept or reject it.

 

By default, fieldworkers can accept or reject services in new bookings through OctopusPro app. However, you can  make yourself the only one to take control of that. It means that when activating this flag, fieldworkers will no longer have the choice to reject any service; and all services assigned to them from the admin will be always considered accepted from their side.

By default, fieldworkers can only make new bookings for customers that they themselves have added; and only the list of these customers will be displayed for them to choose from when making new bookings. If you want to give your fieldworkers the privilege to make new bookings for all your company’s customers, you can activate this flag.

The following screen shots show when this flag is activated in OctopusPro app and in the web.

Scroll to top