Add a cancellation fee
This page list of contents:
- About cancellation fee
- Reduce cancellation by setting up a cancellation fee
- Cancelation fee from the onboarding steps
Many cancellations are genuinely unavoidable because customers’ circumstances change, but there are steps you can take to reduce cancellations and avoid harmful cancellations, those last-minute cancellations that leave you with no time to react and replace lost business. Setting up a cancellation fee can help you proactively avoid these situations and secure revenue.
If you charge a cancellation fee to your customers, you can set up your default cancellation fee here to be automatically added to bookings when being canceled. The cancellation fee set up here applies to bookings canceled directly by your customers through your customer portal.
The cancellation fee can also apply to bookings canceled by your admin users and fieldworkers if required. When an admin user or a fieldworker changes the status of a booking to CANCELLED, they will be prompted with the question ‘Do you want to add the default cancellation fee to this invoice?’, and if they choose yes, the default cancellation fee set will be applied to the customer’s invoice.
Your admin users and fieldworkers can also change the cancellation fee value manually for any booking from the booking edit form if required.
Reduce cancellation by setting up a cancellation fee
- Login to your Octopus Pro account, click here if you haven’t.
- In the left menu, go to Settings>>Financial Settings>>Tax & Fees.
- Scroll down to the input box labeled cancelation fee, click on it and set the value.
- By clicking outside the input box, the cancelation fee value will save automatically, and a confirmation message will appear on the down left side of the page.
Cancelation fee from the onboarding steps
When you first register for OctopusPro there are some steps that you need to complete before you navigate in the system, the third step called tax and fees, from that step we can insert the cancelation fee.
- Scroll down the page and you will find the cancelation fee, set your value in that box.
- By clicking outside the input box the cancellation fee value will save automatically, and a confirmation message will appear on the down left side of the page.